Our Lady of Sorrows

Pieta on the grounds of Holy Family Parish, Concord: photo by Ellen Bullock, for a Concord Journal report on the restoration of this statue.

September 15 is the feast of Our Lady of Sorrows. Follow the link for some background on this liturgical day.

What are Mary's seven sorrows?

The Seven Sorrows (or Dolors) are events in the life of the Blessed Virgin Mary which are a popular devotion and are frequently depicted in art.
  1. The Prophecy of Simeon over the Infant Jesus (Luke 2:34)
  2. The Flight into Egypt of the Holy Family (Matthew 2:13)
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus for three days (Luke 2:43)
  4. The Meeting of Jesus and Mary along the Way of the Cross (Luke 23:26)
  5. The Crucifixion where Mary stands at the foot of the cross. (John 19:25)
  6. The Descent from the Cross where Mary receives the dead body of Jesus in her arms. (Matthew 27:57)
  7. The Burial of Jesus. (John 19:40)
From one of the options for today's Gospel at Mass:

Jesus’ father and mother were amazed at what was said about him; and Simeon blessed them and said to Mary his mother, “Behold, this child is destined for the fall and rise of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be contradicted and you yourself a sword will pierce so that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.”
Luke 2:33-35


No comments:

Post a Comment

Please THINK before you write
and PRAY before you think!